Amazing Chocolate Tofu Cupcakes (Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free)

tofu cc2

I know what you’re thinking. Tofu cupcakes…is she serious? I know…it sounds disgusting. Stop that train of thought immediately though because this is soon to be your favorite cupcake recipe!

Tofu Cupcake Collage

These cupcakes are so moist and chocolatey they are going to knock your socks offTofu gets a bad wrap, but that’s mostly because people don’t understand it. It completely blows my mind how many people still don’t really know anything about tofu. There is a common knee-jerk reaction when I mention tofu, it usually goes along the lines of “ewww, tofu is gross”. Tofu is essentially a block of soy. So yes, if you were to go grab it out of the fridge right now and start chewing on it, you might think it’s a little gross…and I might agree with you.

Long before all of my gluten issues surfaced, I was a vegetarian for 7 years and tofu became my best friend. It can be yours too. What I adore about tofu is:

  1. The texture, it reminds me of my favorite food in the world – cheese!
  2. The fact that it takes on the flavor of whatever you cook it with. Tofu is a chameleon ingredient that adds protein to whatever you cook or bake it with. To me, it doesn’t get any better than that!
  3. Tofu qualifies as low FODMAP, hooray! (It is listed here on Kate Scarlata’s blog, she’s a registered dietician and another FODMAP blogger I love).

Tofu Mix Collage

On that note, enjoy tofu, but if you have IBS don’t overdo it. I find that if I go tofu crazy it does cause issues for me. One week I made this amazing tomato sauce and I decided to slather it on my tofu. It was so good I ended up eating it for dinner every night that week! Needless to say, it caught up with me and I haven’t touched that combo since. That being said, moderation is key to any low FODMAP diet success…which is exactly why it is so hard for me. I am an ALL or nothing kind of girl…but hey, I’m working on it!

Now, back to the yummy chocolate tofu cupcakes. Here’s my recipe, which was inspired by Kim Sanders at Gluten Free Real Food, she’s a girl after my own heart; it’s all about keeping it simple with this recipe! Enjoy!

Ingredients:

Cupcakes:

  • 3/4 cup Firm Tofu (drained but not pressed, I like Nasoya brand…you can even buy it already cubed if you want to!)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup Coconut Oil (you can sub Earth Balance if you prefer), melted
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla
  • 1/8 cup Tapioca Starch
  • 1/8 cup Coconut Flour
  • 1/4 cup Cocoa Powder
  • 1 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 1/4 tsp. Salt
  • 1/4 cup, plus 2 Tbsp. Sugar (weird measurement, I know…just bear with me!)

Chocolate Frosting:

  • 3 Tbsp. Coconut Oil, melted
  • 3 Tbsp. Rice Milk (or Almond milk if you prefer)
  • 1 Tbsp. Vanilla
  • 1 Tbsp. Earth Balance, melted
  • 1 Tbsp. Cocoa
  • 1 1/2 cups Powdered Sugar (aka Confectioners Sugar…this is making me feel old!)

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375°
  2. Drain the water from the tofu package and cut it into small cubes (don’t bother pressing it, you want the extra moisture and don’t let your perfectionism win here, it doesn’t have to be pretty, you’re going to smash it up!).
  3. In a blender, food processor, or whatever you have (I used my magic bullet) blend the tofu cubes and the egg together until smooth.
  4. Combine the tofu mixture with the melted coconut oil and vanilla in a medium sized bowl.
  5. Add in the dry ingredients and mix until combined.
  6. Line and fill your muffin tin. Each liner should be 2/3 of the way full, I was able to get 7 cupcakes from this batch.
  7. Bake cupcakes 11 – 15 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. If you burn them…well they are chocolate, they will still look pretty!
  8. While the cupcakes are baking make the frosting.
  9. Combine all of the frosting ingredients except the powdered sugar. Once your frosting base is mixed, slowly add the powdered sugar until it reaches the consistency you prefer. You might end up using more or less powdered sugar.
  10. Chill the frosting in the fridge for at least 30 minutes before attempting to frost the cupcakes.
  11. Once the cupcakes have finished baking let them sit in the muffin tin for 5 minutes before transferring them to a cooling rack to allow them to cool completely.
  12. Make sure they are completely cool before frosting them, otherwise your icing will melt into a puddle…don’t you watch Cupcake Wars?!

Recipe Notes/Thoughts:

  • I know, getting the blender dirty in addition to the bowl goes against everything I stand for. But in this case you really do have to liquefy that tofu otherwise you’re going to get chunks of it in your cupcakes. I am trying to build a better reputation for tofu here, people are not going to like chunky tofu cupcakes, that I am sure of. If you are into it though, definitely try it and let me know how they come out…you are a rebel!
  • You don’t have to melt the coconut oil or earth balance beforehand for the cupcakes or the frosting. I do it because it makes mixing by hand a lot easier. If you are the queen of using an actual mixer, then don’t bother melting anything, you just do you!
  • Don’t worry, there WILL be extra frosting!
  • If you prefer vanilla frosting over chocolate frosting simply omit the cocoa.
  • If you don’t have an issue with dairy, I would use cream cheese in the frosting. Seriously, 1 oz of cream cheese will change the entire frosting experience!
  • Using the coconut oil in the cupcakes didn’t seem to change the flavor but you can definitely taste it in the frosting. If you aren’t a fan of coconut flavor I suggest substituting  the 3 Tbsp. of coconut oil with earth balance. I personally love the smell of coconut oil but the taste doesn’t do it for me.
  • You can put tofu in the frosting if you want to…again, keep me posted!

tofu cc1

           Are you willing to take a chance and try tofu in your cupcakes?

4 thoughts on “Amazing Chocolate Tofu Cupcakes (Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free)

    • Hi Pat! No calories! Didn’t you hear that tofu absorbs all calories so that you aren’t bothered by them? Yeah…not quite, right?! If that were the case EVERYONE would be eating tofu! You really should try these though, they are so good, and hey this batch only makes 7 cupcakes…even if you eat all 7 (which is entirely possible, trust me!) you can probably still face yourself in the morning! Thanks for your comment!!

Leave a Reply

