Faux Bagel Research…and a Dunkin’ Donuts Rant

gbagel

Glutino gluten-free bagel

The faux bagel research in order to perfect my “Fake-els” continues! I feel like it’s only right to give you an update on my faux bagel findings before the weekend gets here because if you are anything like me, the time when you crave bagels the most is usually on the weekends.

bagel slice

I’m not exactly sure why that is, but I have three ideas:

  1. The weekend is usually when I have some extra time to luxuriate in the morning and actually sit down to enjoy a bagel versus during the rest of the week when I would have to scarf it down in my car on my way to work.
  2. Maybe I’m still having a hard time breaking my Dunkin’ Donuts habit. Before these food allergies turned my life upside down I used to adore going to Dunkin’ (this habit literally started when I was in high school) for a vanilla iced coffee and a blueberry bagel (wow…old habits die hard…) it was always my favorite reward during the week and a fun weekend treat.
  3. I miss the entire bagel experience; bagels used to equal love for me. When someone would bring me a bagel, whether it was just while hanging out with friends at someone’s house, or at a corporate meeting; it made me feel special. Even the simple act of stopping in at Dunkin’ Donuts with the girls; it used to be so nice not to have any worries beyond “this bagel is totally going to make me fat”.

Now when I go to Dunkin’ my options are pretty much narrowed down to hot tea. Exciting right?! Wait (you say) they have a few other gluten-free, dairy-free options, like iced tea! Well for some reason I always end up with an iced tea that tastes like coffee and even those yummy Strawberry Coolatta’s (which I though would be safe in my quest to remove dairy) contain both milk and soy!

But I digress…

plain bagel

I am still working on the “Fake-els” recipe, so don’t worry! In the meantime I decided to sample how the pro’s are doing gluten-free bagels. Not only to see how high this bar is set but also to find out if a gluten-free bagel already exists that can make me as happy as a Dunkin’ Donuts bagel. I have eaten Udi’s gluten-free bagels before and as much as I adore their bread, the bagel just didn’t cut it for me texture wise. It wasn’t awful, it just wasn’t crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside like I remember a really good bagel to be.

gbagel pkg

Glutino bagels on the other hand, now they are getting close to where I want my gluten-free bagel to be! The texture is there, they have that dense-ness that I am seeking. The flavor was pretty good too, but I did find it a little salty. The bad news is that these bagels contain milk and soy. I’m willing to let it go this time because I broke my own rules and slathered this bagel with cream cheese! I had to…it was calling me. To combat the saltiness I put some strawberry jam on top of the cream cheese (Welch’s Natural Strawberry Jam to be specific, because they don’t use high fructose corn syrup) and it was AMAZING!

cream cheese bagels

jelly bagel

So maybe just this weekend, instead of firing up the oven, wander over to the grocery store and get your bagel fix from a frozen Glutino bagel. Let me know what you think!

**Please note: I am not affiliated with any of the brands I mentioned. I am also not receiving any compensation for my product reviews; they are purely my opinion** 

If you’re going to buy a gluten-free bagel what brand is your favorite? What foods are you still emotionally attached to that you used to eat ?

 

Leave a Reply

