The Good, the Bad, and the UGLY…A Food List

Fruit Collage1

It is now officially time for a heart to heart. As you check out my recipes, I think it is very important for you to know why they are the way that they are and exactly how they got this way. It was (and still is) a painful and twisted game of elimination, trial and error style. Would I love to add exotic and spicy flavors to my recipes? Absolutely! Is it possible? Absolutely NOT…well at least not right now. I have found that the best rule of thumb for me is “the blander the better”. That being said, it’s not the saddest thing in the world (though yes, it is pretty sad…) it’s a challenge and I am working really hard to make food taste great without making myself sick. I know it can be done, and I know I’m not alone with my weird food issues! Check out my food sensitivities list below and see if any of these sneaky culprits are affecting you too. Sometimes just hearing that someone else has an issue with a food that you thought was safe brings on a “lightbulb” moment. I know it has for me.

My Food Sensitivities List

The low FODMAP diet was originally developed by Dr. Sue Shepherd in 1999. The information on her website is very helpful, but my favorite FODMAP list is the one that Cassandra Forsythe has put together. There are a million different versions of the FODMAP list out there, along with some confusing disagreements on food classifications, but this is a good guide to get started. If you prefer more of a table versus a list you might like this outline better from ibsgroup.org. At the end of the day, what it truly comes down to is what foods you yourself can tolerate. The hardest part is that it is completely different for everyone.

Also, an honest disclaimer: I am not a doctor, quite frankly, my food sensitivities list is just a list of foods and food items that either work or don’t work for me specifically. Not all of my recipes are low FODMAP friendly. Yes, rebel that I am (why rebel against myself? I’m still working on the answer to that ridiculous question…) sometimes I just eat foods that I shouldn’t. It is as simple as that. I don’t ever eat gluten of course, but sometimes I get carried away with the foods I know I can only tolerate small amounts of. Sometimes when I’m feeling froggy I gamble with my stomach because I still have hope (however delusional it may be) that my stomach issues will just magically disappear and suddenly I won’t have to worry so much about this whole eating thing.

My biggest FODMAP vice at this moment? Onions. I want to eat them day and night. I have been adding them to everything…I might put them in my cereal, I dream of eating them apple-style; it’s crazy, especially since I never even used to like onions.**An important note, FODMAPs accumulate in your system over time. When I started writing this list a few days ago I was on my “onion-palooza” kick and right now I am so sick from the onions that I NEVER want to see one again….EVER. The more I learn about food sensitivities the more I’m starting to realize that my body is hard-core craving things that are really bad for it, things that hurt it…this is frustrating, but also really important to understand in this struggle to gain back control. 

What does your food sensitivity list look like? Did you find anything on my list that made you question if what you’ve been eating is making you sick?

 

2 thoughts on “The Good, the Bad, and the UGLY…A Food List

Leave a Reply

