Delicioso Tex-Mex Fajitas (Gluten-Free)

chix fajita

¡Ay Chihuahua! it must be fajita night! Only the thought of fajitas could make me excited enough to throw on a sombrero and dig my maracas out of the closet! These aren’t just any fajitas; these are simple yet delicious gluten-free fajitas…even better…arriba arriba!

I can never choose between chicken and beef fajitas, so I make both (whew, if only more life and death decisions were that easy!). These fajita’s were great before, but now that I’ve found Trader Joe’s pineapple salsa, they are on a whole new level! If you don’t have a Trader Joe’s near you I am so sorry…you might want to consider moving…just sayin’!

pinapple salsa

I have to tell you my pineapple salsa story. It all started one random day a few months ago when I was picking up some groceries at Trader Joe’s. Up at the checkout counter the cashier noticed my obsession with pineapple; there was a definite theme going on with my groceries that day. He asked if I had tried the pineapple salsa. I honestly hadn’t even heard of it at that point, and when I told him that, he literally stopped everything and ran to the salsa aisle! He brought back a jar of this magical salsa, put a flower sticker on it, and then he packed it in my grocery bag!

TJ sticker

I was floored; he said it was all part of their “customer experience” and then he gave me a few recipe ideas for the salsa! Awesome experience, and you better believe that as soon as I got home I was all about tasting that salsa. It was so good! Kudos to Trader Joe’s and Kevin the cashier, I’m officially addicted to their pineapple salsa. I literally buy it every time I go there now. It tastes great on chicken, pork, beef, lettuce, a spoon…that floorboard over there…you get where I’m going with this, it’s delicious! The best part is that my husband (who hates pineapple) even likes this salsa too. And it’s what? Gluten-free of course!

Thanks Kevin, this one’s for you!

beef fajita

beef fajita rolled

Ingredients: (Serves 3 – 4)

  • 3/4 lb fajita style sliced beef (the grocery store sells them raw, pre-sliced; easy!)
  • 2 skinless boneless chicken breasts
  • Salt and pepper, for seasoning the meat
  • 1 medium onion, sliced thin
  • 1 medium tomato, chopped
  • 1 splash of olive oil for the skillet
  • 4 Toufayan gluten-free wraps

For Topping:

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350° (for the tortillas)
  2. Season and cook the fajita beef strips and chicken breasts (separately). I prefer to use a George Foreman grill; cook the beef 4 – 6 minutes and the chicken 8 – 10 minutes or until cooked completely through. You will notice the juices running clear when it is finished.
  3. While the meat is cooking, add a splash of olive oil to a skillet on medium heat and then add the thin sliced onions.
  4. Cover and stir occasionally for 5 – 10 minutes.
  5. Once the onions have softened and are starting to turn clear remove the cover and add the chopped tomato.
  6. Saute´ for another 5 – 10 minutes or until the tomatoes have cooked down and are heated thoroughly.
  7. Once the chicken and beef have finished cooking set them aside to rest for at least 5 minutes before slicing (the chicken, the beef is ready to go) and plating.
  8. Cover 2 baking sheets with aluminum foil. Put the tortilla wraps on the baking sheets, 2 tortillas on each sheet.
  9. Heat the tortillas for 5 minutes or until they reach your maximum level of toasty-ness. The edges will brown quite quickly.
  10. Remove the tortillas from the oven and cut them in half for maximum fajita rolling size.
  11. Chop the lettuce, grate the cheese, and put the salsa and sour cream in serving dishes.
  12. Transfer the tomato and onion mixture to a serving dish and call your amigos! Dinner is ready, let the fajita assembly begin!
Gluten-free "Tortillas"! Hurra!

Gluten-free “Tortillas”! Hurra!

Recipe Notes/Thoughts:

  • If you prefer your tortillas to be softer you can microwave them (10 – 15 seconds each) instead of toasting them in the oven. I like the crunch the oven gives them, but they are definitely easier to roll if you microwave them. Sometimes I just use the whole tortilla toasted in the oven to make a salad-esque creature, like a salad “shell” if you will.
  • I use Cracker Barrel Vermont Sharp White Cheddar because it’s naturally lactose free, FODMAP friendly and it’s not colored with annatto like most yellow cheddar cheeses. I’m not 100% sure annatto is an issue for me, but whenever I can avoid eating it, I do.
  • You can use any kind of beef that you prefer, I like the fajita beef strips because they are pre-sliced (hooray…errr…hurra!) and so thin that they cook really quick, but they can also get really tough really fast if you overcook them.
Sauteed tomatoes and onions

Sautéed tomatoes and onions

Beef fajita strips

Beef fajita strips

Chicken

Chicken

Shredded lettuce

Shredded lettuce

Cheese!!!

Cheese!!! El queso!!!

Have you tried Trader Joe’s Pineapple Salsa? Do you love it as much as I do?

What other toppings are you adding to your fajitas…are you getting fancy or keeping it simple like me?

Leave a Reply

