No Bake Cookie-in-a-Bowl (Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free)

Cookie in a bowl

Here is another quick, easy, and addicting sweet treat! I wouldn’t call this super healthy but when you’re having a sugar/chocolate/texture craving this will be your new go to. Plus it fills you up!

This recipe has some interesting roots on it. It was an odd favorite when I was growing up; I think it developed from times when we were low on groceries in the house…dessert is still necessary (daily!) so we got creative. It all started with watching my dad put peanut butter on his store-bought chocolate chip cookies (weird), then my brother mixing a bowl full of semi-sweet chocolate chips with peanut butter (weirder), which finally led to me adding oatmeal to peanut butter and chocolate chips (weirdest, but SO good!).

I thought I would share this simple joy, plus if you need a sweet pick-me-up you almost always have these 3 ingredients at home. I’ve modified this recipe just a little for my allergies, but it still tastes like it did when I was a kid! It’s all about the texture here, and hey oatmeal adds fiber! Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup Gluten-Free Oats
  • 1/4 cup Enjoy Life Dairy-Free Chocolate Chips
  • 1 – 2 Tbsp Peanut Butter

Instructions:

  1. In a cereal bowl mix the oats and peanut butter.
  2. Work in the chocolate chips and that’s it! You’re done! Eat up!

Recipe Notes/Thoughts:

  • You can make this mixture in any amount that you like, big or small. These are rough measurements. The general rule of thumb is 2 parts oats/chocolate chips to 1 part peanut butter. This will also keep well if you can actually stop yourself from finishing it in one sitting! Life’s too short…just eat it!

What crazy recipes have you come up with in a pinch when you are severely in need of a good sugar fix?

Leave a Reply

