Incredible Chocolate Chip Cookies (Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free)

THC Pile

Chocolate chip cookies…yummm! The epitome of childhood happiness (well at least it was for me!). It takes me back to those cold and snowy winter nights growing up when my mom was completely stir-crazy from being cooped up inside for too long. She would channel her anxious energy into baking up her very own storm! She used to religiously bake Nestle Toll House cookies for us, and in our house nothing less than a double batch would do. Maybe that explains why every time I get in the kitchen no matter what I create, it always seems to make enough to feed an entire neighborhood!

There are a lot of gluten-free chocolate chip cookies out there and so far this recipe is the first one that actually made my nostalgia come back! I will warn you that this recipe isn’t as simple as the recipes I usually bake; but I did try to un-complicate it a little. It’s still a one bowl wonder as long as you use a bowl that you can microwave (hooray for glass mixing bowls!!). My gluten-free baking is getting more daring; I think it’s a good thing. I adapted this recipe from Mama Pea’s version at Peas and Thank You which ultimately lead me back to Alton Brown’s version, so I need to give him a shout out as well. Some seriously amazing gluten-free work is going on out there!

THC Lone Dense

I made these cookies dairy-free also, as my quest to find out if dairy is making me sick continues. I have to say, once I adjusted to the dairy free chocolate chips they started to taste pretty freaking awesome (my husband still doesn’t completely agree with that, but he loved these cookies and hey he can still have the “real thing”, so disregard his opinion right now!).

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup (2 Sticks/16 Tbsp) Earth Balance Vegan Buttery Sticks, melted
  • 1 whole egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 2 Tbsp Silk Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk
  • 1 1/2 Tsp Vanilla
  • 1/4 cup White Sugar
  • 3/4 cup Brown Sugar
  • 1 Tsp Salt
  • 1 Tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/4 cup Cornstarch
  • 2 Tbsp Tapioca Flour
  • 1 cup Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free Oat Flour
  • 1 cup Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free Sorghum Flour
  • 1 1/2 cups Enjoy Life Dairy-Free Chocolate Chips
  • 1 cup chopped Walnuts

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375°. Line your baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In a medium bowl microwave the Earth Balance sticks until melted.
  3. Add the wet ingredients: sugars, eggs, milk and vanilla. Mix well.
  4. Start adding the dry ingredients: salt, cornstarch, tapioca flour and baking soda. Mix well.
  5. Then mix in the oat flour and sorghum flour. Don’t overmix from here on out; oat flour can get overworked.
  6. Add the chocolate chips and walnuts. Complete a final light mix (almost folding them in if you will).
  7. See recipe notes/thoughts on refrigerating the dough (below); chill dough for 1 hour or spoon onto baking sheets immediately, your choice.
  8. Bake unchilled dough for 11 minutes, refrigerated dough for 13 minutes.
  9. Remove from the oven when they are browned to your preference; let cookies cool on the pans for at least 2 minutes before moving them.

Once they are completely cooled, store in an airtight container and continue to enjoy day by day!

Recipe Notes/Thoughts:

  • I’ve been using the Enjoy Life brand for dairy free chocolate chips, my only complaint is that I can’t get the correct size of chip that would compare to Nestle’s and it does make a difference (to me anyway). For this batch I started cutting the mega chunks in half (I made it through half a cup but I get bored easily, yes…it’s another issue I’m working on!) and I had about 1 cup of mini chips left so I combined the two.
  • I don’t bake with xanthan gum…I bought two packets that I constantly stare at in the pantry, but I haven’t had the nerve to try them yet…I just have this sixth sense that it’s not going to do good things in my stomach…
  • I used eggs and nuts in this recipe. For those of you who can’t eat them I’m SO sorry, definitely make your needed substitutions, but as for me I’m embracing them for as long as I still can!
  • This was my first experience with Sorghum flour. I can see how it might get overly sweet very quickly. When I tried these cookies hot out of the oven I was nervous; it reminded me of an overly sweet gluten-free flour mix, but don’t worry, as they cool the over-sweetness will disappear!
  • I mixed it by hand and it was just fine…
  • I’m not one for multiple bowls and I will do crazy things in just one bowl; but mix how you feel best…be true to yourself.
Left - Unrefrigerated         Right - Refrigerated

Left – Unrefrigerated                                                                                                                          Right – Refrigerated

  • Regarding refrigeration: Both of the recipes I consulted recommended refrigerating the dough for an hour prior to baking. I am 1.) completely not patient enough for this and 2.) I think I might like them better unrefrigerated, but I tend to like a denser cookie. I scooped the first batch onto a pan and popped it into the oven right away then I threw the dough in the fridge while they baked – 11 minutes. Once I had a few cookies in my  stomach (yes they were very hot!) I regained some patience and let the dough chill out for a while. However, I noticed that the rest of the batches took 13 minutes to cook and the cookies seemed “fluffier” (yes, that is a very technical baking term). The next day (which is when I tend to prefer gluten-free cookies the most, I think they must need to settle overnight to achieve the best flavor??) the refrigerated cookies were soft and had a more delicate texture while the unrefrigerated batch seemed crisper, almost denser with a more crunchy texture. So I put the decision in your hands; if you like a crunchy cookie then don’t refrigerate the dough, if you want a softer version then let it refrigerate before cooking (warning, the refrigerated kind can be a bit crumbly, so careful when you pack them up).

THC side by side inside

I hope you like my modifications…now go, get in the kitchen and happy baking to you! Let me know if you choose to refrigerate or not; yes, it is one of life’s bigger decisions, you alone hold the fate of these cookies in your hand…errr…refrigerator!

Leave a Reply

