“Fake-els” Faux Bagels (Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free) (Part 1)

Banana Creature

By now you know how much I like to say “life is a journey”? Ummm yeah, well so is gluten-free baking! I am not going to just give you perfect, delicious, amazing gluten-free recipes…nope, I’m not that girl. I’m also not the “recipe fairy”. We are in this together you and I, so here we go, brace yourself because there will be good and bad but we will eventually get there, I promise. Where is there you ask? To the land of perfect recipes of course!

This recipe is definitely a “creature from my oven”. I want a gluten-free, dairy-free bagel. I want it to be simple and quick and I want it to taste fantastic. I am not there yet. Bagels should be crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside. They should taste great alone or with toppings. Did I mention this is not that recipe? Well not yet anyway! I was feeling very inspired by Foodie Fiasco’s Easy Grain Free Bagel recipe, but there were a lot of things I just couldn’t eat in there, like applesauce, garlic (oh how I miss garlic!) and xanthan gum. So this is my version; here we go!

Trial #1 – Banana “Fake-els”

Ingredients:

  • 6 eggs
  • 1 medium banana, mashed
  • 3/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp ground flax
  • 1/2 cup tapioca flour

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400°
  2. In a medium bowl mash the banana, then mix in the eggs one by one.
  3. Mix in the dry ingredients and voila´, batter complete!
  4. On a baking sheet covered with parchment paper form 4-5 bagel-esque looking creatures.
  5. Bake for 18 – 20 minutes; the weird antenna’s on the “fake-el” will turn brown (yes, I am aware that normal bagels do not have antenna’s!)
  6. Let your creatures cool on the baking sheet, then attempt consumption in whatever manner feels right to you. They WILL slice in half, like a real bagel…resemblance ends there…

Recipe Notes/Thoughts:

  • I thought the banana was genius; until I realized that the “fake-el” would be banana flavored! That being said, if some sugar was added to the batter it may have resembled banana bread…don’t worry, it’s on my list of things to do and I’ll keep you posted.
  • The batter was very wet, hence adding more and more coconut flour, plus tapioca flour. “Fake-els” were a bit grittier than I was hoping for, but the flax did seem to help.

Banana Creature 2

                          How did your “fake-els” come out? What did you change?

6 thoughts on ““Fake-els” Faux Bagels (Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free) (Part 1)

    • Thank you April! I know you love coconut oil, so just wait until you try coconut flour! It takes a little getting used to because it soaks up a LOT of moisture from your batter, but talk about taking gluten-free baking to a whole new level! I’m ready to plant coconut trees outside of my apartment! If only they liked the Chicago weather…

  1. Pingback: Faux Bagel Research…and a Dunkin’ Donuts Rant | EmptySpoonful

  2. Pingback: Faux Bagel Research…and a Dunkin’ Donuts Rant

Leave a Reply

