A Day of Overprotective Moms

Family

A Family of Geese

Since I don’t have kids, I am always curious about what moms are thinking in different situations. Here’s my story, let me know how you interpret it!

Geese in the Mist

Geese in the Mist

It was gorgeous day; I wanted to take a nice relaxing walk at a nearby park. The loop I like goes in a circle around a pond where there are always Canadian geese. Usually the geese and I don’t have a problem, we stare at each other nervously when the path gets close to where they’re hanging out, trying to decide who’s the predator and who’s prey until we get a little distance from each other, then we’re fine. But today there were goslings, and we all know how protective moms can be. The geese were far enough from the path where I could walk by without getting too close (or so I thought) mother goose did not agree. I stood waiting for them to walk down to the pond so I could pass and she wasn’t having it, she started hissing at me and when I took just one step closer, foolishly thinking we had enough room between us to coexist, she started chasing me! Not just running at me but hissing with her mouth open!

The Chase Begins

The Chase Begins

I’m not well versed on geese, maybe it would have been smarter to stand up to her, but knowing how my mom is when she gets angry, I ran! Then after a sizeable distance was between us, we were fine, she stopped chasing me and went back to the kids. I decided I would just go the opposite way on the loop and by the time I’d circled around again they’d be gone. Well as I was circling around I noticed another jogger had reversed his path and was kind of smirking at me as he ran by – I didn’t think about it until afterwards, but he totally knew the goose was waiting for me – nice heads up guy! Anyway, there is also a playground near this pond and there were some moms and kids playing. I saw another girl walking near where the geese were and she looked a little nervous but fine, so I kept walking. Ok, this is where you are waiting for me to be savagely attacked by a goose – I know you want it, but no, I’m not insane, sorry. When I came up on that momma goose again and she started hissing at me AGAIN I turned around  and decided to backtrack! There happens to be an exit to the park near the playground, so I decided to go out that way only to find a toddler walking out the path too. Not far behind was his very pregnant mother who was chasing him as best as she could, she looked like she could go into labor at any second. I stood and waited for the mom to get behind the toddler before I exited the park and I noticed she was giving me a terrible glare that I could see even through her sunglasses! I smiled at her sympathetically, (if I had a kid it would run away from me too) I don’t like to get too close to random kids with all of that “stranger danger” stuff out there so I kept my distance. She seemed to resent me for that, like I should have jumped in to help, or maybe she really was scared that I was going to abduct her child, I’m not really sure. Either way she reminded me so much of the angry goose mom that it made me laugh (which needless to say, she also didn’t seem to appreciate). Needing to see how this story was going to end, I casually watched as I exited the park and went in the opposite direction  from the now sprinting toddler. This kid ran his mom ragged and finally darted out into the street where he started climbing on what must have been their car (I hope it was their car because thought of a toddler climbing on my car like that gives me chills). At that point his mom finally grabbed him and carried him back to the park, and all the while she’s still giving me that nasty glare!

Now please realize, I have my own issues. If a stranger looks at me funny (or even just plain looks at me at all) I feel like they are judging me and I am immediately insecure. First thought in my head is, they must think I look fat (hey cut me a break, it’s something that I’m working on)!  That being said, I hear all the time about how being a mom can make you feel very insecure, especially when your kid is acting up in public.

Moms out there, it’s “Choose Your Own Adventure” time (please tell me you remember CYOA!). Can you tell me what this mom was thinking? Was she embarrassed that her son was running away from her? Was she judging me and my workout outfit? Was she mad at me for not helping? Or was I too close to the runaway toddler and it was in fact “stranger danger”?

                 I’m really intrigued to hear what you have to say!

Leave a Reply

